top of page
Search
  • kinsjusta

Quick Capture: Urban Emotions

Using the Arc GIS Quick Capture tool I made a map representing the Psycho-geography of Kailua Hawaii where I live. To build this map I first set up the base map and added areas for data to be stored as lines, polygons and points by following this tutorial. This information can then be used to create a mobil app which is very convenient considering most people have their phones on them at all times and we are constantly capturing data. When I set up my app I then gathered data over the span of two days of my walking errands around Kailua.


This is the resulting map from my initial data collection


One of the issues I saw with this as soon as I returned from "the field" and entered map viewer was that the lines and points were the same color scheme so telling them apart was difficult. In the Change Style drop down menu I was able to go in after the fact and change these points from simple colored dots to symbols.


This helped distinguish the points from the lines which were capturing two different sets of data.

  • Points: the type of infrastructure

  • Lines: The range of emotions felt while moving through the landscape.



Zoomed in on the map you can see that this becomes clear:


From the map above it begins to become clear why this type of data may be useful. I recorded "Happy" as the predominant emotion through the area in the Windward Plaza and behind the Macy's building. Looking at the symbols within this area shows that a large number of benches, fountains and parks (green spaces) are found all along the space.


As a social scientist the value of this tool is obvious and I hope to use it again in the future.

To improve this map I would add in more notes such as photos of each location and if I were to expand a study of an area in depth I would want to make this map public and encourage people to use it and add their own observations and data.




7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Enhanced Clustering

Clustering helps visualize patterns when a large amount of data points are present. New features in Esri now allow for labeling of...

1 Comment


Katie Taladay
Katie Taladay
Mar 07, 2022

Nice! I love that you took a lot of data and experienced a range of emotions. Would love a walk-through of why your emotions changed where they did - what changed in the urban environment to trigger the change in emotions?

Like
bottom of page