top of page
Search
  • kinsjusta

Hello!

Updated: Jan 13, 2022

Hello, I'm Kinsey. I am currently a graduate student at the University of Hawai'i Manoa in the department of Anthropology.

My research interests revolve around natural resource management and marine based food production systems. In other words--seafood! I have worked in a variety of roles related to marine resources including being a whale watch and kayaking guide within the tourism industry to being a global seafood sales manager. For employment I currently co-own and work aboard a 52' seine vessel, the F/V Lucid Dream, in Alaska during the summer months.



During the rest of the year I fulfill requirements and am completing research for an MA in Applied Anthropology. one project I am particularly excited about is spatial orientation and communication amongst salmon fishing captains in Alaska. Fishing crews and captains have a diverse and unique lexicon to refer to the direction of fish as well as their spacing in relation i other boats. It it my argument this specialized communication and community language represents a deep understanding of not only the marine environment but also the limits to human actions within it. Harvester observations and knowledge is rarely used in management and policy decisions that directly impact their livelihoods. It is my hope to help demonstrate that fishermen knowledge can be useful and should be valued by policy makers. My long term goals are to work within sustainable fisheries development and management, ideally on an international level as I believe that ocean issues are a global conversation.


I'm fortunate to live between two great seafood destinations; Hawai'i and Alaska! Check out this map I made of my favorite seafood spots in Honolulu




27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Enhanced Clustering

Clustering helps visualize patterns when a large amount of data points are present. New features in Esri now allow for labeling of...

1 Comment


Katie Taladay
Katie Taladay
Jan 31, 2022

Welcome! I'm going to try all of these spots. :) Thanks for sharing.

Like
bottom of page